Main Menu

ICR Awards Ceremony celebrates graduating students and pioneering researchers

Graduating students at the University of London's Senate House on 5 July

Three internationally recognised cancer researchers have been honoured alongside graduating students and former staff members at the annual Institute of Cancer Research Awards Ceremony.

The event is one of the highlights of the ICR calendar, and provides an opportunity to celebrate the achievement of students, and those who have made crucial contributions to the ICR.

Held at the University of London's Senate House on 5 July, the ceremony saw more than 80 graduating students receive their degrees, and a number of students given special awards for outstanding achievement.

A total of 24 students were awarded their PhDs by the University of London's Vice Chancellor, Professor Sir Adrian Smith, alongside five who were awarded MD(Res) qualifications. A further 10 students received Master of Science degrees in Oncology, while 47 others received Postgraduate Diplomas and Certificates in Oncology.

PhD students Shaista Hafeez and Kevin Litchfield, and MD(Res) students David Woolf and Matthew Brown, received prizes from ICR Chairman Luke Johnson for outstanding achievement in their degrees, while Pei Shuen Lim received the Professor Alan Horwich Prize for outstanding achievement in the MSc in Oncology degree.

Outstanding contributions to cancer research

In addition, researchers Dr Susan Galbraith, Professor Adrian Harris and Professor Nic Jones received honorary Doctor of Science degrees for their outstanding contribution to the field of cancer research.

Dr Galbraith is Head of the Oncology iMed at AstraZeneca. Her time at the company saw it work closely with the ICR and The Royal Marsden NHS Foundation Trust on the successful development of olaparib.

Professor Harris is the Cancer Research UK Professor of Medical Oncology at the University of Oxford, and was until 2016 a member of the ICR's Board of Trustees.

Professor Nic Jones is Director of the Manchester Cancer Research Centre, and until recently held the position of Chief Scientist at Cancer Research UK.

Former ICR members of staff were also recognised for their contributions to the ICR. Cathy Scivier, who was Chief Operating Officer until 2016, was made a Member of the ICR, while Linda Baldwin, Ann Ford and Chris Martin were appointed as Associates.

Professor Clare Isacke, Academic Dean at the ICR, said:

"We congratulate all our graduating students and wish them well as they embark on the next stage of their careers.

"We expect that many will go on to become leaders in their fields and we hope that what they have learned at the ICR will help them tackle the many challenges they will face."

This year, coinciding with our Awards Ceremony, we are running our first ever Teaching Week to celebrate our learning and teaching excellence.

Read more


Clare Isacke Cathy Scivier Cancer Research UK Teaching Week
comments powered by Disqus