Main Menu

ICR committees

This page details the work and membership of various committees at The Institute of Cancer Research.

A meeting at the ICR's Sutton Site



Audit Committee

The Audit Committee supervises internal and external audit in order to safeguard the integrity of the ICR's financial systems and ensure economy, efficiency and effectiveness in the use of the ICR resources.

All meetings are attended by the External Auditors and the Chief of Internal Audit Services. The Committee has full access to the Auditors and the Auditors, both internal and external, in turn have access at all times to the Chair of the Audit Committee.

Audit Committee Members:

  • Mrs Mandy Donald – Chair
  • Mr Graham Clarke MSc MBA FCMA CGMA
  • Mr Chris Molloy
  • Dr Michael Young PhD FCA MIoD

Back to top

Nomination Committee

The Nomination Committee approves the balance of skills and attributes required of non-executive members of ICR committees so that the ICR may be properly and independently governed.

The Committee appoints such individuals to fulfil that function (except to the Board of Trustees) and appoints Associates of the ICR. The Committee recommends to the Board of Trustees the conferment of Honorary degrees, the admission of Members of the ICR and appointments to the Board of Trustees.

Nomination Committee Members:

  • Mr Luke Johnson MA(Hons) – Chair
  • Dr Brendan O'Neill PhD – Deputy Chair
  • Mr William Burns BA(Hons)

Back to top 


Investments and Building Development Committee

The Investments and Building Development Committee manages the ICR's investments and building developments (including stocks and shares, property development, ICR Chelsea Development Ltd and ICR Sutton Development Ltd).

Investments and Building Development Committee Members:

  • Dr Brendan O'Neill PhD – Chair
  • Mrs Marie-Christine Riachi CFA – Deputy Chair
  • Mrs Jane Hamilton BCom FRICS
  • Mr Thomas Henderson HonDSc(Med)
  • Mr Michael Sales
  • Professor Paul Workman FRS FMedSci – Chief Executive and President
  • Dr Charmaine Griffiths – Chief Operating Officer

Back to top 


Remuneration Committee

The ICR's Remuneration Committee determines the remuneration policy and the salaries of senior members of staff.

Remuneration Committee Members:

  • Mr Charles Geffen – Chair
  • Dr Brendan O'Neill PhD - Deputy Chair
  • Mr Luke Johnson MA(Hons)

Back to top  


The Academic Board

Chair: Clare Isacke (Academic Dean)

The Academic Board reports to the Board of Trustees and the Executive Board and has been established to consider and report on all academic and teaching matters and questions of education policy. It ensures that the ICR, as a College of the University of London, has a rigorous and responsive Quality Assurance framework in place, and ensures the development and delivery of the ICR’s Learning and Teaching Strategy. It is responsible for matters relating to quality assurance and enhancement procedures and academic standards.
Membership of the Academic Board includes the Chief Executive, the Academic Dean, all ICR Professors and Readers of the University of London, representatives of the academic and honorary academic staff, members of the consultant medical staff of the Hospital, ICR student members and other persons co-opted by the Academic Board.

Back to top