Main Menu

MSc Oncology course modules

The following module guides are available as PDFs.

You can also download the MSc Oncology Student Handbook 2016/17.

PART A (Basic Sciences) modules

1. Cell and Molecular Biology of Cancer (20 credits)
Module Leaders: Dr Nicola Valeri, Dr Zoe Walters, Dr Michael Bright

2. Statistics for the Oncologist (10 credits)
Module Leaders: Mr James Morden, Mrs Jo Haviland

3. Cancer Therapies (30 credits)
Clinical Pharmacology
Module Leaders; Dr Judith Cave, Dr Sarah Rudman
Introduction to Radiation Sciences 
Module Leaders: Dr Amen Sibtain, Dr Navita Somaiah
Advanced Radiation 
Module Leaders: Dr Susan Lalondrelle, Dr John Glaholm 
Experimental Cancer Pharmacology 
Module Leaders: Dr Roshan Agarwal, Dr Udai Banerjee


PART B (Clinical Sciences) modules

4. Research Methods (10 credits)
Module Leaders: Dr Anna Wilkins, Mrs Clare Griffin

5. Cancer Treatments 1 (20 credits)

Principles of Genito-Urinary Cancers
Specialist Lead: Dr Alison Tree

Principles of Gastro-Intestinal Cancers
Specialist Lead: Dr John Bridgewater 

Gynaecological Malignancy
Specialist Lead: Dr Kate Lankester 

Acute Oncology
Specialist Lead: Dr Jaishree Bhosle

Palliative Care
Specialist Lead: Dr Rema Jyothirmayi

Specialist Lead: Dr Aisha Miah

Skin Malignancy
Specialist Lead: Dr Susan Lalondrelle

HIV Related Malignancy
Specialist Lead: Dr David Bloomfield

6. Cancer in Context (10 credits)
Module Leaders: Dr David Bloomfield, Mrs Clare Moynihan

7. Cancer Treatments 2  (20 credits)

Breast Cancer
Specialist Lead: Dr David Bloomfield

Respiratory and Lung Cancer
Specialist Lead Dr Jeanette Dickson

Head, Neck and Thyroid and Endocrine Cancer
Specialist Lead: Dr Richard Simcock

Central Nervous System
Specialist Lead: Dr Matt Williams

Lymphoma / Haematological Cancer
Specialist Lead: Dr Donna Lancaster

Oncology in the Developing World & Late Effects
Specialist Lead: Dr Susan Stanway

Paediatric/Teenage/Young Adult Cancer
Specialist Lead: Dr Donna Lancaster

PART C Dissertation

8. Module and Assessment Guide (60 credits) 

Part C Tutors: Professor Robert Huddart, Dr Matthew Williams, Dr Nicola Rosenfelder, Dr John Glaholm and Dr Tom Richards
We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. By continuing to use this website, you are agreeing to our use of cookies on your device as described in our cookie policy. You can change your cookie settings at any time but parts of our site will not function correctly without them.